Thursday, July 25, 2024

Start of The ICC World Cup 2024!

For the first time, 20 nations will battle for world glory in the United States and the West Indies. With 55 matches spread across four weeks ICC Cricket World Cup 2024 is going to be exciting.


Both the USA and the West Indies were awarded automatic entrance as host countries. Also, the USA will be playing in their first-ever competition. The 2010 competition, where England defeated Australia in the final, was held in the West Indies and they will be hosting the competition again. The final will take place once more this year at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados.

Selected Teams

The top eight teams from the last ICC Men’s T20 World Cup automatically qualified for the tournament’s ninth edition. Afghanistan and Bangladesh secured their places as the highest-ranked teams in the T20 rankings.

Source: Al Jazeera

Regional qualifiers determined the remaining eight spots from the European section, Ireland and Scotland qualified. Scotland hosted the regional finals in July 2023, going unbeaten through the group stages. Ireland clinched their spot with a crucial seven-run win over Italy.

Papua New Guinea advanced to the T20 World Cup with an impeccable record in the East Asia-Pacific qualifiers, marking their second appearance in the tournament. From the Americas qualifier, Canada clinched its spot by narrowly surpassing Bermuda in net run rate, thus earning its first trip to the main event.

Meanwhile, Nepal and Oman emerged victorious from the Asia qualifiers, overcoming UAE and Bahrain in the semifinals. In a nail-biting final, Oman triumphed after a Super Over. Additionally, Uganda secured the final spot in the 20-team line-up by achieving their inaugural T20I victory against a full-member team, Zimbabwe, thereby reaching their first T20 World Cup. Furthermore, Namibia qualified from the Africa Qualifier, continuing their participation streak from the 2021 and 2022 editions.

Historic Opening Match: USA vs Canada

Canada and the USA played the opening match of the T20 World Cup 2024, where the USA team secured its first-ever T20 World Cup win! The USA defeated Canada by 7 wickets, with stunning performances by Aaron Jones (94 runs) and Andries Gous (50 runs). This victory marks a historic moment for USA Cricket.

Aaron Jones’s blistering knock combined with Andries Gous’s timely half-century ensured the United States got their first win of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 at the Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas. After being asked to bat first, Canada posted 194 for 5 against the USA in the tournament’s first match. 

Source: ndtv

Navneet Dhaliwal (61 off 44 balls) and Nicholas Kirton (51 off 31 balls) scored fifties to keep Canada’s momentum going. Shreyas Movva added a crucial 32 off 16 balls at the end, including 21 runs in the last over, boosting Canada’s total.

For the United States, Ali Khan, Harmeet Singh, and Corey Anderson each took a wicket. With their highest successful chase in T20Is being 169, the USA needed a record-breaking effort to win the opening night of the tournament. Canada’s 194/5 set a new record for the highest total by an associate team at the men’s T20 World Cup, surpassing the Netherlands’ 193/4 against Ireland in 2014.

As the ICC Cricket World Cup kicks off, we extend our heartfelt wishes to all participating teams. May the spirit of sportsmanship shine brightly on the field as teams compete for glory. Let’s unite in celebrating the diversity of talent and the thrill of cricket together. Here’s to an unforgettable tournament filled with memorable moments and electrifying matches.

Luzon Technologies

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

UEFA Euro 2024

The UEFA Euro 2024, the 17th edition of the UEFA European Championship, runs…

The Rise of Esports

Ever wonder how video games went from being casual hobbies to becoming a global…