Monday, July 22, 2024

11th NRN Global Conference

The 11th NRN Global Conference and International General Assembly of the Non-Resident Nepali Association (NRNA) begins from today, October 17 to 20. The date of this conference coincides with the 20th anniversary of NRNA. This conference, held every two years, will elect new leaders for the NRNA. At the same time, a conference for youth and experts will also be held. President Ramchandra Paudel will inaugurate the event

About the Election

As per the election timetable, online voting is set to commence for a 24-hour period beginning on October 19th. The process will allow eligible participants to cast their votes. Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal will oversee the finalization of the polls in the evening of October 20th. 

How to Vote

The voting method involves the use of a ‘facial app’ for casting votes. To ensure a smooth process, a link to this app will be sent to all eligible voters 24 hours prior to the start of the voting period. Once they open the link on their electronic devices, voters can cast their ballots after confirming their identity through facial recognition.

The implementation of online voting has significantly simplified the participation of these international representatives. This has enabled them to vote conveniently from any location worldwide. However, it is important to note that candidates must physically visit the convention site to register their candidacy. Those proposing and seconding candidates must also be present at the convention site for verification.

To accommodate representatives present at the convention venue, arrangements have been made to provide on-site voting options with strategically placed computers. Approximately 1,500 candidates and voters will make use of this on-site voting option during the conference. This will ensure a diverse and inclusive electoral process.

11th NRNA Global Conference
11th NRN Global Conference

Candidates for the Election

The race for the presidential position of the NRNA involves five individuals racing for this significant leadership role. Among these candidates are the NRNA presidents, Badri KC and Rabina Thapa, who have already held leadership positions within the organization. Additionally, vice presidents Mahesh Shrestha and RK Sharma are also in contention. The fifth candidate, Binaya Adhikari, currently serving as the deputy general secretary, rounds out the group of contenders.

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

The US Visa Fee Hike

The US has declared a sharp hike in the fee for a number of non-immigrant visa…